Skip to product information
1 of 1

John Holt "Essential Artist Collection" 2xLP (Transparent Orange)

John Holt "Essential Artist Collection" 2xLP (Transparent Orange)

Regular price $35.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $35.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

After fronting popular Jamaican vocal trio the Paragons on a succession of best-selling rock steady singles during the late Sixties, John Holt went on to become one of Jamaica’s most popular solo performers, scoring a series of reggae hits for many of the island’s leading record producers. His international breakthrough came in 1974 with the hugely popular ‘1000 Volts of Holt’ album, which fused raw reggae rhythms with sophisticated orchestral arrangements. The highlight of the long-player was a reworking of Kris Kristoffersson’s country hit, ‘Help Me Make It Through The Night’, which the following year became a global hit, with the single, peaking at Number 6 in the UK charts. Over the years that followed, Holt remained a giant of the reggae scene with further best sellers and numerous sell-out shows around the world. The very best of his solo work has been brought together on this ‘Essential Artist’ compilation, the latest release in Trojan Records’ newly launched range that showcases the work of Jamaica’s best-loved ‘foundation’ artists. Available as a 28-track double vinyl LP, the collection superbly illustrates the talent that made John Holt one of the reggae music’s most popular and enduring singers.

Side A 

01 Help Me Make It Through the Night
02 Pledging My Love
03 Stealing Stealing (Thief In the Night) - By John Holt & Tommy McCook & The Supersonics
04 My Heart Is Gone
05 Looking Back
06 I'll Be Lonely - By John Holt & Joya Landis
07 I Wanna Dance (May I Have This Dance)

Side B
01 Ali Baba - By John Holt, Tommy McCook & The Supersonics
02 Stick By Me (And I'll Stick By You)
03 Strange Things
04 Tonight - By John Holt & Tommy McCook & The Supersonics
05 The Further You Look (The Less You See)
06 Wildfire (7" Mix) - By Dennis Brown & John Holt
07 Sweetie Come Brush Me

Full Length Vinyl 2

Side A 

01 Sister Big Stuff - By John Holt & The Tommy McCook All Stars
02 My Desire
03 I'll Take a Melody
04 Time and the River
05 Let's Get It While It's Hot
06 Ghetto Queen
07 Reggae from the Ghetto

Side B
01 You Baby
02 You Will Never Find Another Love Like Mine
03 I See Your Face
04 Tide Is High
05 Let's Build Our Dreams - By John Holt & Leroy Sibbles
06 Before the Next Teardrop Falls
07 Just the Way You Are

Shipping, Returns & Cancellations


We ship Monday through Friday. Orders typically ship within 24-72 hours. Tracking is sent to the email you provide at check out and may take a few days to become active.

Any items ordered with Pre-Orders will be held until they can all ship together. If you need in stock items faster please order them seperately.


Returns are only accepted on damaged or defective items. Return requests must be made within 7 days of delivery. Please save the original packaging.

If you own a Crosley, Victrola or any other lower end turntable that has no ability to adjust the weight of the tone arm and are experiencing skipping on a new record please try the "Penny Trick". Simply place a penny on the top of the cartidge and it should provide enough weight to resolve your issues. While a great entry to the world of vinyl we do recommend upgrading to a turntable with a tone arm that can be adjusted as this issue will randomly occur. We do not take returns in these cases.

Resellers: If you are buying from us for resale we honestly don't mind. However, please don't panic if something you bought suddenly isn't flipable for more money and then try to return stuff to us because you feel like you made a bad investment choice. Despite our outsized reputation we're a small shop, not amazon. Absorbing these costs adds up on places like ours. Plus a little patience always tends to pay off.


Due to an increasing number of payment processors no longer returning transaction fees to sellers on cancelled orders and rising labor costs any orders or pre-orders that need to be cancelled before shipment will be assessed a 5% cancellation/restocking fee on the order total including shipping and any other taxes or fees associated with the order.

Thank you for your understanding.

View full details
  • All Domestic orders over $75 ship for free!

    Free shipping threshold does not include sales tax.