Skip to product information
1 of 1

Sturgill Simpson "Cuttin' Grass" 2xLP

Sturgill Simpson "Cuttin' Grass" 2xLP

Regular price $29.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $29.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Since breaking through in 2014 with his Grammy nominated Metamodern Sounds in Country Music album, Sturgill Simpson has established himself as one of the most daring and most acclaimed artists of our time. His music stretches across genres and styles, from the psychedelic soul of 2016's A Sailor’s Guide To Earth (Grammy nominated for Album of the Year and winner for Best Country Album) to the fuzzed-out rock attack of Sound & Fury in 2019. Now Simpson returns to the music of his native Kentucky with his first bluegrass project, Cuttin’ Grass - Vol. 1 (The Butcher Shoppe Sessions). The album, which he calls "a mixtape for the fans," was dreamed up while he was recovering from Coronavirus, and sees him reimagining songs from across his catalogue backed by some of Nashville's finest acoustic virtuosos. "All the songs I’ve ever written were written on one guitar, my old Martin D-28, and sung in a fashion that's probably closer to bluegrass than to anything else," Simpson explains. "I had it in my mind for a long time that someday I want to cut as many of these songs as possible in this fashion, just organic and stripped down to the raw bones of the composition. If you can’t sit down and play a song like that, it’s probably a pretty shitty song.”



Sturgill Simpson - vocals, rhythm guitar

Sierra Hull - mandolin, vocals

Mike Bubb - bass

Stuart Duncan - fiddle, vocals

Scott Vestal - banjo, vocals

Tim O’Brien - rhythm guitar, lead guitar, vocals

Mark Howard - rhythm guitar, lead guitar, vocals

Miles Miller - percussion, vocals


Track list, and background on each song

1. All Around You - from A Sailor’s Guide To Earth (2016), performed this song with The Dap Kings at the 59th GRAMMYs

2. All The Pretty Colors - a Sunday Valley song, from album To the Wind and On to Heaven (2011)

3. Breakers Roar - from A Sailor’s Guide To Earth (2016)

4. I Don’t Mind - a Sunday Valley song, from album To the Wind and On to Heaven (2011)

5. I Wonder - a Sunday Valley song, from album To the Wind and On to Heaven (2011)

6. Just Let Go - from Metamodern Sounds in Country Music (2014)

7. Life Ain’t Fair and the World Is Mean - from High Top Mountain (2013)

8. A Little Light - from Metamodern Sounds in Country Music (2014)

9. Life Of Sin - from Metamodern Sounds in Country Music (2014)

10. Long White Line - from Metamodern Sounds in Country Music (2014)

11. Living The Dream - from Metamodern Sounds in Country Music (2014)

12. Old King Coal - from High Top Mountain (2013)

13. Railroad of Sin - from High Top Mountain (2013)

14. Sitting Here Without You - from High Top Mountain (2013)

15. Sometimes Wine - a Sunday Valley song, from album To the Wind and On to Heaven (2011)

16. The Storm - from High Top Mountain (2013)

17. Time After All - from High Top Mountain (2013)

18. Turtles All The Way Down - from Metamodern Sounds in Country Music (2014)

19. Voices - from Metamodern Sounds in Country Music (2014)

20. Water In A Well - from High Top Mountain (2013)

Shipping, Returns & Cancellations


We ship Monday through Friday. Orders typically ship within 24-72 hours. Tracking is sent to the email you provide at check out and may take a few days to become active.

Any items ordered with Pre-Orders will be held until they can all ship together. If you need in stock items faster please order them seperately.


Returns are only accepted on damaged or defective items. Return requests must be made within 7 days of delivery. Please save the original packaging.

If you own a Crosley, Victrola or any other lower end turntable that has no ability to adjust the weight of the tone arm and are experiencing skipping on a new record please try the "Penny Trick". Simply place a penny on the top of the cartidge and it should provide enough weight to resolve your issues. While a great entry to the world of vinyl we do recommend upgrading to a turntable with a tone arm that can be adjusted as this issue will randomly occur. We do not take returns in these cases.

Resellers: If you are buying from us for resale we honestly don't mind. However, please don't panic if something you bought suddenly isn't flipable for more money and then try to return stuff to us because you feel like you made a bad investment choice. Despite our outsized reputation we're a small shop, not amazon. Absorbing these costs adds up on places like ours. Plus a little patience always tends to pay off.


Due to an increasing number of payment processors no longer returning transaction fees to sellers on cancelled orders and rising labor costs any orders or pre-orders that need to be cancelled before shipment will be assessed a 5% cancellation/restocking fee on the order total including shipping and any other taxes or fees associated with the order.

Thank you for your understanding.

View full details
  • All Domestic orders over $75 ship for free!

    Free shipping threshold does not include sales tax.